WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Enrolling the youth in the nation’s military services has become a hot topic of discussion recently. While there are some countries that have made it mandatory for the twenty year olds to get into the military services, others take the general approach of having an individual decide whether to get into it or not. In this essay, I will discuss why I feel it is beneficial to have young men and even women to compulsorily serve the nation after completion of their high school.

One of the biggest positives of having youngsters join the military is that it would create a sense of pride within them for their country. This is because of the hard work and effort they will have to put in order to serve and protect the country. The flip side to this is that the quality might suffer due to a chunk of of population not willing to join the services for reasons such as lack of interest.

Secondly, getting into the military at a young age makes them highly disciplined and mature. This is because they will have to be away from their family and spend their time learning skills that will develop their personality and make them independent which is crucial to become successful in any field in life. Although, one of the challenge to this is that not everyone is physically and mentally capable and fit of being in a certain military domains such as the Army and the Navy which require high IQ as well as fitness.

In conclusion, I see more positives than drawbacks of having the youth engaged in the military services and serve their nation for their own growth and development