WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that hosting international sports events may be beneficial for a country. Discuss both views. You should write at least 250 words

International sports events are growing in popularity. Millions of people tune in to watch such events from all over the globe. Some people are of the opinion that hosting such events are beneficial for countries, while others believe that hosting countries lose money. This essay will examine both sides of this argument, before explaining why I believe such events should only be taken up if it is feasible for the country.

International sports can bring about a large amount of attention from fans all over the world. As a result, many fans travel to the country in which the event is taking place. This creates a huge opportunity for the country to boost its tourism sector and transform its global image. A case in point is that a large number of tourists who were earlier hesitant to visit South Africa fell in love with the country’s culture when they travelled there to watch the Olympics. This decision to host has resulted in a flourishing tourism sector which is now a major contributer to their economy.

However, hosting such events are very expensive. The country is responsible for complying with the sport’s rules and regulations. This requires making suitable seating arrangements and the provision of food for the players and fans which cost millions of dollars. Additionally for many events, stadiums have been built only to be never used again. For example after the Olympics in Brazil, many constructions like the Olympic village had to be destroyed as the space was no longer in use. Furthermore, the event did not cause any further growth in the tourism sector.

In conclusion, hosting an international sporting event can completely change a country’s image and boost its tourism. But is imperative to understand that such benefits are not guaranteed and the responsibility should only be taken up after considering the costs and expenses.