WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think having a university degree is the best way to secure a good job. However, others believe skills and experience are more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people think that theoretical knowledge gained through a university degree is more helpful in securing a job than Skills gained through real-world experience.

On one hand, a university degree prepares people with the basic understanding the possible situations and issues that can take place at a work setting. Firstly, it gives you an understanding by highlighting the past experiences of scholars to make the theories relevant and believable. Secondly, a university degree can create a pathway for achieving proper mentorship from professors who have gained valuable experience in their professional career.

On the other hand, acquiring professional skills and experience is a better way to prove one’s caliber. Moreover, having a skill set based on the work experience shows that the person is seasoned with the real-world situations and would be able to tackle everyday problems more easily. Furthermore, a recruiter would be more attracted to a resume showing relevant kills and experience, than a resume showing a list of degrees with little to no experience. Basically, if a person has been able to experience certain difficult situations in the past, a recruiter would expect that person to be able to handle other similar situations in a different setting as well. Whereas, if a person has theoretical or bookish knowledge, then it would be difficult for a recruiter to trust the person for the same.

All in all, Skills and experience proves that a person is capable of handling situations better in a real scenario as compared to people who gained knowledge through past experiences of scholars with no experience themselves.