WRITING TEST 3 WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words Public IELTS descriptors

As technology is evolving day by day, most of the things we previously used, is now becoming obsolete. Amongst them is newspaper. With the boom of internet, it replaced the conventional way of delivering important information to the masses. However, I strongly believe we must retreive newspapers back into our lives. In this essay I will explain the importance of it, followed by some of the disadvantages of using internet as a medium to convey news.

Paper media has a process for editing and review. This is essential to eliminate any false news or control propaganda and hate speech. For instance, when everyone has internet acess, their is no authentic source of the information, which can mislead the audience in believing something they want for their own benefit. Therefore, newpaper will always hold a positive aspect in delivering controlled and timely access of news.

Although there are few benefits of sharing important information on the internet such as evacution updates in case of tornados or landsliding. But they also could use alternate ways to make people alert. For example, making use of speakers in public buildings to alert the residents of the area. As the negative risks associated with the active use of internet will always outweigh any possible benefits.

In conclusion, nowadays with media access to every person, newpaper is losing it place. Nevertheless, it plays a significant role in delivering authentic news in a timely mannered way. However, some news might be better spread fast, but the in my opinion newspaper should remain the only medium with which people can learn about the current affairs.