WRITING TEST 3 WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words Public IELTS descriptors

In today’s world, there exist numerous bodies that argue that the advent and swift expansion of the internet have yielded a colossal decline in the utilization of newspapers. Personally, I am convinced that this claim is utterly accurate, as unequivocally evidenced by the continued bankruptcy of most of the renown newspaper companies globally and, of course, by the fact that the number of users of this means of acquiring information has been brought to a critically meagre number.

For instance, in my country of origin, Ethiopia, the affluent companies that once dominated the industry have now shifted to other businesses or have sold out to other organizations. nizations. Berhanena-Selam Newspaper, which has now turned its attention to the lucrative business of printing books and brochures, is an excellent illustration of this truth.

In addition, with its sheer convenience and the staggering speed with which its availability has skyrocketed, the Web has become the preferred alternative for obtaining news in various forms, posting advertisements, and playing word games, effectively rendering newspapers obsolete. A number of studies have found that even the vast majority of the laggards of society – those members of a community that are slow to adopt new changes, such as senior citizens – have chosen to watch news on the internet. An excellent practical illustration of this observation is my own aged grandfather, who I saw employing his smartphone to get news about current political affairs on YouTube

On the whole, I am of the stance that the newspaper business is terminally ill and will soon succumb to make way for its younger, technological advanced and simpler replacement, internet news. This process has already been concluded in most portions of the world, despite the presence of a few nations, such as my own, that are not there yet.