You should spend 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In today's world, many people use mobile phones and the Internet to communicate with others. This has resulted in the use of new words and different forms of spelling and grammar. Why do you think these changes have happened? Are they a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, using mobile phones is the necessary part of people’s daily life. It is almost impossible if someone doesn’t use any social network or messenger and other technologies. The Internet allows people to communicate very quickly and there is no importance where they are. As a result, people have become used new words and alternative grammar in their messages. In this essay I will try to find which reasons have let to these changes exactly and common benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon.

To begin with, the most common change in spelling is the appearance of new short forms of words, sometimes they are very unusual. This is because people have gotten a great opportunity to communicate almost instantly and they do not want to waste time on spelling frequently used words. As a result, we often see words without vowels or strange words like ‘afaik’ and ‘iykwim’ that mean ‘as far as I know ‘ and ‘if you know what I mean ‘, respectively. The second change in language is using new words that have arisen due to new technologies. For instance, ’email’, ‘Internet’ and others. Also, people have become less used to commas less significantly in informal communication.

Undoubtedly, these changes in language structure have positive and negative sides. Such phenomena like the opportunity to communicate as quickly as possible without misunderstanding and appearance of a big variety of new words can be considered as benefits. Moreover , some new collocations are very funny. It is a natural development of language. On the other hand, the excess of short artificial words in speech impoverishes it. Also, it creates a negative impression about the interlocutor. It is a bright example of negative influence.

In conclusion, I should notice that changes that have been described above are very natural in the context of long-term language development. However, people should try to not use slang without a control.