You should spend about 40 minutes on this question. Many countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rural areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers? Give reasons for your answer, and provide ideas and examples from your own experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It has been about a decade since many countries have acknowleged the problem of migration from rural areas to larger cities. There are many factors causing this and it also contributes to some of the problems already existing in cities.

Regarding the causes of the migrations, one can take financial and social matters such as lack of jobs and inaccessibility to services, responsible for this matter. If a family living on a farm faces a shortage for job oppurtunities and fails to meet its monetary needs, it will surely make the decision to leave and move to a place with more chances of financial survival.

On the other hand, a preponderance of migration is caused by not having access to various educational, social and financial services. Many pepole move to bigger cities to send their children to colleges and universities.

Turning to the effects, this matter puts more pressure on the shoulders of the city in terms of infrastructure, services, pollution, etc. Most of the people migrating to the cities can not afford accommodations in central parts of the cities, but rather prefer to live in suburban areas. As a result, this leads to overexpansion on outter areas of the cities, making it difficult to service the citizens. On top of that, this will not help the city with problems such as pollution, crowdedness and traffic, with which large cities are already struggling.

In conclusion, there are valid reasons for people living on countrysides to migrate to larger cities where they can access services that were previously unavailable to them, and also help with their financial situtations. Meanwhile, this trend can cause serious problems for the cities’ infrastructure, even to the extent of crippling it.