You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Localy owned stores are outcompeted by big markets and on-line sops. This kinds of competations have negatively affected both shop owner and the local communities. Nevertheless, governments could take meassures thus giving opportunities to locals.

If the big supermarket chains establish themeselves in more urban environments, that would negatively affect locas shops. The peple in that community would be forced to buy groceries in big markes which would negatively affect local economy. Farmers would not be able to sell their milk or eggs because big markets would be cheaper. Thus families would not have money and migh tend up leaving the community in search of a new place to live. By not spending money at local shops, economy would not improve thus putting people at risk of loosing thei jobs. Additionally by spending money on-line, even more money would be lost and that would criticly endanger smaller communities.

There are a number of meassures governments could take to boost local shops. They might put in place policies that say that all the big supermarket chains are not allowed to open in smaller comunities. That would benefit both local salesmen which would have a bigger profit thus boosting the local economy. Or governments could say that localy owned shops would not need to pay taxes which would lessen the price of goods like eggs and milk. Therefore more people would buy localy then in big grocery stores.

In conclusion, large supermarkets as well as on-line shops have a negative affect on cmaller communities. They outcompete the local shops thus putting people at risk of being pennyless. However, governments could implement some rules and regulation that would benefit smallers shops and concequently boost local economy.