You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today’s world, the trade industry has increased rapidly and plays a crucial role in daily social life on account of offers the prime demand for many citizens, especially with the advancements of technology and the economy, many supermarkets and online shops have grown up and taken the lead in convenience and variety.

As these two emerging shopping trends are growing flourishingly, the old shopping trends such as local shops no longer being the ideal choice for consumers, specifically for the younger generations. One of the prime reasons is that supermarkets consist variety of goods in many sectors, which is much more convenient than shopping in the local shops that still have limitations in diversity. Additionally, many shopping malls now include entertainment areas to attract young customers, which local shops do not have. In terms of online shops, they are even more convenient, people just sit at home, and some click on their gadgets to pick what they want, in my country, it has many online shopping platforms like Shopee and Lazada, which attract thousands of people engaged. Also, customers tend to show their preference because online payment makes transactions a lot more convenient.

This situation can have both positive and negative effects on local communities. One of the key influences is its impact on the economy which results in business closures and job losses, weakening the local economy. When it comes to cultural, traditional markets and local businesses often contribute to a sense of community. if they disappear, local culture and social connections may also decline. On the positive side, the new shopping trends can bring more choices for people with great conveniece

To address this issue, several measures can be implemented to support local businesses and maintain a balanced economy. The best solution is to suggest the problems for the governments as they could provide financial aid and tax incentives to help the local business compete with the larger retailers. By another way, the local shops can adopt online platform to advertise and attract the residents in the area.