You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the current times, small local shops are facing difficulties competing with supermarkets and online shops. This can have harsh effects on the economy of local communities and severe measures must be taken to enhance their situation.

Due to the advancing technology and developments, shoppers prefer to buy their household items online or in hypermarkets. This can severely impact on the daily wages of local markets. These local shopkeepers highly depend on their sales to provide basic necessities to their families. With the increased competition and reduced sales, it would have harsh affects on these communities. Poor income and sales would add difficulties in serving their family, causing stress and tension. Moreover, few of these locals are forced to close their shops and change their profession due to incurred loss. For instance, local shopkeepers in Japan have closed their shops due to loss in wages.

Consequently, it is necessary to take strict actions to improve their lifestyle. A key move to enhance their situation is to shift their focus to online shopping. Locals should sell their products on internet to ensure consistent sales and improve their profits. Additionally, government must provide subsidies to locals to export their products to developed cities to compete with large supermarkets. This would benefit the locals and the consumers as they can buy fresh and organic fruits and vegetables produced by domestic societies. This will ensure a sense of satisfaction among the consumers and shopkeepers.

In conclusion, although the local markets in towns and villages are facing difficulty in sales, they can compete with superstores with their fresh and organic eatables.