You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today’s world, the reconstruction of cities has a major impact on a country’s economy and development. Some people opine that new infrastructure should be made on the sites of older property. while some argue that old structures should be preserved. I fully agree with the first argument as it helps to create more houses for the growing population and it has a positive impact on the environment. This essay will discuss both perspectives before reaching a conclusion.

To begin with, the increment in population around the globe has created a housing crisis. There are many heritage buildings with no visitors or helping the government to earn any extra aid that should be eradicated and new facilities should be created to facilitate the housing industry. It means that new apartments will be built that will accommodate numerous households and refugees in the country. For example, a country like Canada is facing a housing problem because of immigrants and refugees and they are building new cities and apartments by decommissioning older structures.

Moreover, New developments will help the environment. Modern buildings will form with the latest technology which will use fewer resources such as water, electricity, and gas which indirectly helps to curtail carbon dioxide in the air. Also, these cities will be built near towns which will lead to cutting down carbon emissions in the air as most people will use public transport over their private cars.

On the contrary, Heritage buildings should be preserved as they define the rice culture of that country. Tourists visit the country to see those monuments as they reflect the country’s history. For example in Ahmedabad majid in the city is famous among tourists. That place even creating traffic congestion cannot be replaced as it plays a vital role in the identity of Ahmedabad.

In conclusion, Encouraging modern infrastructure has many more advantages then preserving the old building. I fully agree that a new city should be built over old properties.