You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people claim many things that children are taught at school are a waste of time. Other people argue that everything taught at school is useful at some time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

In recent years, there is a heated debate over whether the knowledge that students are taught at school is useless or it will be helpful at some time. I am more inclined towards the second view and both sides will be elaborated in this essay.

Admittedly, on the one hand, many things taught at school do not have any practical applications. Simply put, some subjects now are too theoretical as they only focus on the definitions of things, not their practices. For example, in Mathematics, many high school students now have to study integral or derivative formulas without understanding their bases or meanings. As a consequence, pupils might easily get confused and could not apply anything into real life. Moreover, forcing students to learn something they could not understand is also a waste of time. Instead, some courses teaching essential life skills and soft skills should be added into the school curriculum, hence making students’ time in a more useful way.

On the other hand, the knowledge taught at school now can be really helpful for children at some time in the future, especially for individuals working in specialized fields, such as researching or investigative ones. Basically, many things students are taught at school are the premises for the future, they have to comprehend the bases of knowledge at school before keeping on with the advanced ones. For instance, pupils wanting to work on food-researching fields will need to master things about Chemistry at school first. In addition, learning new concepts is never useless or waste of time for children. For children, the more they learn, the more they develop their cognitive functions and think efficiently. The problem is not about the knowledge, the problem might be about the unsuitable and old teaching methods that make people think the knowledge is useless and boring. Therefore, many new appealing teaching methods can be apply to raise students’ interests, thus helping them focus and understand more.

In conclusion, I believe that the knowledge that children learning at school can be useful for them at some time. Although many things are taught at school now are a bit theoretical and lack of practical applications, they can still help students develop their ways of thinking and might be helpful for their career paths in the future.