Many people think homeschooling is better than traditional schooling for children's academic and social development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that learning at home is more beneficial for students’ overall learning process compared to conventional education. While there are several benefits of home learning associated with flexibility and individualized approach, the disadvantages, lack of social interaction and professional teaching, outweigh the advantages.

Granted, home-based education has many merits. One significant upside is flexibility. Home learning not only offers a flexible learning schedule, but is also valuable for families who live far from good schooling or need to move often. When children are educated at home, they can learn at their own pace, creating a comfortable learning environment. As a result, this can enhance their academic performance and make time for their pastime, catering to individual needs. Another important merit is personalized education. When students learn at home, they can manage their time efficiently, learn self-control skills, conduct research and shape an ability to solve problems independently. This, in turn, develops self-discipline and independence.

Despite these compelling arguments, I remain convinced that home instruction might do more harm than good. First and foremost, if children are instructed at home, they can fail to communicate with their acquaintances. As a consequence, their social skills can be developed slowly, leading to underdeveloped interpersonal skills. For instance, my aunt’s son was educated at home. After he finished university, he has not been employed for many years due to his poor communication abilities and now he does not have a good job. Furthermore, parents may not be able to teach all subjects professionally and the quality of education always depends on parents’ knowledge. If certain subjects are not taught effectively, students might fall behind academically compared to their peers, resulting in gaps in students’ knowledge.

In conclusion, although homeschooling can be advantageous in certain instances, I maintain that it can be more disadvantageous because it may limit opportunities to develop social skills and affect educational quality.