You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Parents are putting a lot of pressure on their children to succeed. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In modern times, parents put a lot of pressure on their children to succeed. However, there are many reasons for this. In this essay, I will be stating whether I believe that it is a positive or negative development, give reasons for my answers, and provide examples from my knowledge and experience.

Personally, I believe that putting stress on kids to succeed can either be beneficial or detrimental. It has both advantages and disadvantages. Starting off with the benefits. The children’s minds will be focused on success. Engraving success in their minds can potentially influence the child to perform their best. Allocating all their focus and dedication on a goal gives them an advantage over their peers. In a running race, the person with the most dedication and ability always wins. Hence, that determination can allow them to exceed their own limitations and surpass people their age. Another advantage is pride. Making their parents proud is a task that will always encourage them to succeed. After succeding once, their pride and ego will keep them going. Making them excel at their task.

Nevertheless, too much pressure and stress can be significantly detrimental to a child’s childhood. One disadvantage is self-confidence. In their first attempt at anything, if they do not succeed in achieving their assignment, this can absolutely damage and ruin their self-confidence. Moreover, the pressure from the parents will only make matters worse. For instance, when a kid gets bad grades, both his sadness and his parents dissappointment can totally ruin his confidence. A worse negative can be trauma or depression. When people loses all confidence in theirselves, they develop depression or other mental illnesses that can destroy their lives. For example, a teenager failing to gain the validation of his parents will make him give up on his dreams.

In conclusion, pressure can be beneficial. However, too much pressure detriments lives. I personally grew up in a pressured environment. I always had the goal to get excellent grades and make my parents joyous and satisfied. However, when I failed once, I kept failing. Nevertheless, I broke out of that sequence and proved myself. Therefore, I believe that balance is the answer to everything.