You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In contemporary society, a significant discourse revolves around the increasing issue of children’s obesity. This essay will explore how processed food and reduced physical activities are the key drivers of this trend and how organic food and an active lifestyle can effectively address this pressing issue.

One of the main reasons of childhood obesity is bad eating habits. Now many young children prefer to have fast food or canned food, which contains a lot of calories. For example, one glass of cold drink contains four table spoons of sugar, daily intake of which ultimately leads to obesity. Hence, high intake of calories in the form of burgers, pizza, snacks and cold drinks are a major factor of weight gain.

Secondly, online games and social media platforms has replaced the outdoor physical activities, as a result of which children do not get time for sports. For instance, according to a survey in Japan in 2021, around 60% of school age children does not play any kind of physical sports, instead prefer online games. Lastly, governments should also make it necessary to have playgrounds in school buildings, as it will encourage children to play.

However, there are certain measures that can be taken to curb this issue. The primary solution I believe would be healthy eating habits, in which parents can play a major role. Another effective solution would be promoting outdoor sports in schools as well as in communities.

In conclusion, poor eating habits and online games are the key factors contributing to childhood obesity. Addressing these issues through shifting towards organic food and promoting sports participation can effectively mitigate the weight issues at a young age. Implementing these strategies is essential for fostering healthy and properous communities.