You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is often argued that every household should be provided with pure water free of charge because having access to it is a fundamental human right. I agree that clean water is vital for every human-being, so it should be offered at no cost.

On the one hand, morality is the main reason of people claiming that access to uncontaminated water should not be paid for. Undoubtedly, water has always been essential for a wide range of things besides drinking. For instance, basic hygiene and sanitation cannot do without pure water. Therefore, the absence of it can result in significantly deteriorated living conditions and, eventually, severe health disorders. However, water companies continue to limit access to clean water for those who cannot afford it, which seems like earnings are prioritised over humans’ survival. It follows that governments should take responsibility for ensuring that all citizens are provided with this vital resource.

On the other hand, supplying population with free water is extremely challenging for economics. Water purifying and pipelines maintenance require vast amounts of financial and human resources. Moreover, having an unlimited access to water might lead to overconsumption and wastage of it. As a result, people will face critical environmental issues, just as drought, which in turn leads to harmed ecosystems and lowered water levels.

In conclusion, I am strongly convinced that no one has to be denied the right to be supplied with uncontaminated water. Anyway, everything has to be in moderation because overuse of water carries grave consequences.