You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Multiple food and drink products consist of large quantity of sugar which is dangerous for health. Should the products that contain sugar in high amounts be made expensive so to prevent people from buying them? In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement because of its two positive effects.

The sugary products are mostly affecting our young generation including children who like eating these products. This is because high levels of sugar are harmful according to the Doctors causing a lot of health problems such as heart disease, high blood pressure, etc.

The government can restrict its people from buying these products by increasing the prices of sugary products which could encourage the parents to stop feeding their children these products and supporting world health organizations to warn their people about the evils of consuming high sugar. In contrast, prices of sugar-free food and drink can be lowered to encourage people to consume less sugar. For example, London, which was one of the world’s best sugar product sellers is now looking for consumers as a growing number of people now prefer sugar-free products because they cost less compared to sugar. Another reason people stop buying these products is because health organizations run campaigns to tell people about their side effects.

Another reason for its to be effective is that it will help in closing numerous industries which are currently producing these products. Increasing prices and fewer consumers will have a negative impact on their business and they will be forced to reduce or completely stop production. Moreover, if the government provides more facilities and subsidies for less or no sugar products, it might encourage the manufacturers to start producing such types of goods. For example, the famous US chocolate called Feastables which contains an extremely high density of sugar has record low sales this year because of increasing prices while another brand emerged known as Joyride because of its low cost and no sugar at all.

In conclusion, making sugary products expensive will help reduce the consumption of sugar as well as by making its public aware about its negative effects. It might also result in the closure of numerous industries that are responsible for various health problems across the globe