You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The dominance of the American film industry is a problem for many people. American films are shown in nearly every country on the planet and some people see that this has a negative effect on local culture and traditions. I would agree that local governments should subsidize domestic film-makers but I also see some benefit to American films.

Modern films that are made by American studios cost a huge amount of money. This makes them spectacular to watch, offering the audience a degree of escapism from their daily lives. Because of this, going to the cinema becomes a highly engaging experience for many people. It is primarily for this reason that American films are so popular around the world.

However, some commentators view this as a form of cultural imperialism. Most American films promote American culture and values which may be at odds with those of the country in which the film is being shown. The audience may then model their behaviour on the characters in the film -for example in how they act, in their clothes or even in the food they eat. This results in traditional values and cultures being lost.

One solution to this problem would be for the government to promote and subsidize the domestic film industry. If more films were made domestically then there would be more positive role models from the viewers’ own country to relate to. This would result in the preservation of local culture and traditions- as long as the films are actually seen and appreciated by people!

To conclude, American films with a huge budget are amazing to watch. However, entertainment should not be the only objective for films. Since they can and do also promote cultural norms, whether directly or indirectly, governments have a responsibility to protect culture by subsidizing their film industries.