You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is believed by some people that in the upcoming future, vehicles such as cars, buses, and trucks will have no drivers. The passengers will be the only ones who will travel in these vehicles. According to my perspective, although this trend will have both merits and demerits, the demerits will outweigh the merits, and my views will be explained below.

To commence with, there is one main advantage of this trend, and that invaluable merit is the safety of travelers, which may increase. Because driverless cars would be controlled by artificial intelligence, the chances of mishappenings like road accidents will reduce to a great extent, thus providing enhanced safety to passengers.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages associated with this trend. The first and foremost is that the rate of unemployment in the country would increase. As there are a large number of people who are employed in the driving sector, such as truck drivers who transport goods as well as drivers carrying passengers in private and government buses. So, with the introduction of driverless automobiles, jobs would be at risk, and unemployment will surge. Furthermore, it will hinder the transportation of people since the cost of such vehicles will not be affordable to all. For instance, in the UK, driverless tractors have been introduced to aid farmers in the field. However, it is too expensive for normal people to purchase.

In conclusion, according to me, despite the safety provided by robot-controlled cars, the unemployment rate will rise, and such vehicles will not be affordable to most people owing to their cost.