You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Hollywood and the film industry in the United States have dominated the motion picture sector for years. This has led people to suggest government financial support to local film makers in an effort to safe guard and grow their haritages, and I agree with this sentiment.

Governments have the responseibility to support artistic expression of the people because they are the reflection of the community. Cultural identity and norms are represented by art, and films are the most impactful means of broadcasting the culture of a country to the rest of the world. Furthermore, failure to do so will result in being infuenced by other cultures and in some cases even loss of identity. For instance, people in many countries now talk and dress like Americans, which is the result of them watching american movies since they were a child. Had they been offered movies made in their own country, things would have been different.

With that being said, governments can not take all the responseibility, the private companies and film makers also have to work together to grow their local film industry. This can be done by collaborating on projects that can benefit both the artists and the companies that fund them. For example, artists can get financial support from the private sector and make the movies, and the private sector gets promotion in return.