You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Indeed, over recent years, investing money in the search for life-bearing planets outside of Earth has been a much-discussed topic with two fully opposite sides. There is no doubt that both sides have some underlying reasons, as we shall see in the following sentences.

On the one hand, many may place a premium on considering the budgetary implications of exploring the galaxy to find out more about environmental issues and to find a liveable planet, for several reasons. Firstly, they cite that in the decades ahead, we will be facing some planetary dilemmas, ranging from a massive amount of environmental degradation to a shortage of food and drinking water. Thus, it is an absolute necessity for governments to fund and support space discoveries. Secondly, it might be said that being aware of other planets’ living conditions would significantly help us to solve some terrestrial issues, such as Ozone degradation, that we are facing nowadays.

On the other hand, the opponents of spending money on space knowledge claim that this monetary policy should first be directed towards our immediate problems. In terms of this, some sensitive issues such as a shortage of staple items can be our priority. In addition, it can be said that the government must enhance basic infrastructures, such as providing drinking water, reducing air pollution, and so forth, that can dramatically remedy some foremost problems. As a last point, this money comes from people through taxation, so the public should make decisions on how this money is spent.

To sum up, it seems logical to me that it would be better to distinguish and solve the remediable problems on Earth first. Then, we can spend public investment on outer space.