You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. Write about the following topic: More and more developing countries are expanding their tourism industries. What do you think are the reasons for this? Is it a positive development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In recent times, an increasing number of developing countries are focusing on the growth of their tourism industries. While this approach might have its downsides, I believe this can be a positive development that will benefit the nations in the long run.

Tourism is a means for a country to generate revenue while showcasing their rich culture and biodiversity to the world. It has a major impact on both the economy and culture of the host country. The tourism sector in India is evolving at a rapid rate which has generated several jobs. In order to nurture the tourism sector, governments invest in improving the infrastructure of the country which also benefits the locals. Along with the widespread economic impact, tourism also facilitates the spread of culture, history and ideas. It allows people, both tourists and locals, to learn more about the heritage of the country and its traditions. This intercultural dialogue fosters a sense of mutual understanding and helps expand people’s worldviews.

Despite these very lucrative benefits, tourism does come with its own set of challenges. Popular tourist spots tend to get overcrowded which puts a strain on the existing infrastructure and inconveniences the locals. Increased ecotourism may disturb habitats of animals and lead to an increased carbon footprint. The negatives can be avoided by mindful and sustainable tourism practices by both governments and the tourists.

The growing tourism sector does come with its challenges, but if we manage to overcome them, it also provides a great boost to the economy while preserving and showcasing the country’s heritage and culture.