You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Cause of armchair critic Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It’s a human tendency to judge others by their outer appearance, but is it fair? A good physical appearance is the only parameter to decide the status and worth of a person. I think it’s unfair to draw conclusions and opinions about others without actually knowing them. Some people try to demean others by making a negative impressions, in order to derive a false sense of superiority and gratification.

Generally, people tend to make perceptions about others by outer appearance like their looks, complexion, dress etc. They hold such preconceived notions about others in order to accept or reject them. Stereotyping makes people judge others with a closed mind-set, thereby, hampers correct judgement. We must not follow general rules to judge others rather should develop our own set of standards. This way we can stop making wrong assumptions by rejecting negative influences around us.

Only external appearance cannot decide the personality of an individual. We also need to look at his inherent inner qualities which are sometimes latent. In order to manifest the true nature and qualities of someone, time is required. A person with an ordinary appearance can be a great person. Abdul Kalam Azad, a renowned scientist and former President of India, is a perfect example of this. He was an extra-ordinary man with ordinary looks. All people are born equal regardless of our outer appearance. Having a beautiful heart is more important than having beautiful looks.

Personally, I believe in the saying that ‘All that glitters is not gold’. Irrespective of the physical differences, we must respect each other as human beings and should stop being censorious. A positive attitude with no prejudice can help individuals to overcome this problem of judging people by their looks.