You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

It is true that sports facilities are not suitable for the majority of the population in modern society. Specialised stadiums have been built with a view to facilitating the process of training professional athlete rather than rectifying the health of the public. It is true that there are some drawbacks, to this development, yet I would argue that this may bring more advantages.

On one hand, there are many drawbacks to not building sports facilities for people. Initially, when the government favors athletes, fewer sports building would be implemented for inhabitants, hindering them from doing sports. Therefore, people are more likely to suffer from health problems. For instance, when there are not many gyms for the public, more people may abandon their need for exercising; therefore, they can suffer from conditions such as high blood pressure and obesity.

On the other hand, international sports events have a crucial role to play in the economy and culture of a country. If facilities are utilized to train top athletes, they may be able to perform better at sports events held worldwide, bringing fame and prosperity to their country; therefore, other nations may cooperate with them as business partners and enhance the local economy. Ronald, a top football player, can exemplify for this situation, owing to his outstanding performance in many World Cups, a number of international companies have became partners with him and it has enables him to support his country more. Furthermore, the popularity of their culture will spread further as well, attracting people to visit the country in question. As a result, their cultural values will be known better. This is the most noticeable in the development of tourism in Vietnam, the number of travelers to the country has experienced an increase after their becoming the champion of SEA Games 2018; henceforth, foreigners learn more about the cultures.

In conclusion, although this development is somewhat disadvantageous, the benefits still dominates the drawbacks. Nevertheless, it would be compulsory for the government to balance their bias.