You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries today, if people want to find work, they have to move away from their friends and their families. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

I believe that moving away in search of job opportunities provides more advantages than disadvantages, and hence is a choice that should be made over staying with friends and family.

Today, globalization has connected the world and enhanced level of life for people all around the world. However, this has also created a more competitive environment for opportunities. Many people are unable to acquire a well paid job in their hometown or local village which matches their skill level. They are left with the choice to stay at home and look for smaller gigs, or move away in hope of obtaining a better job. This choice has been made by many acquaintances of mine, the most prime example being my father. He moved abroad and left his family and friends for higher education and ultimately a well paid job, and this choice of his is the reason why I am who I am today. By making the difficult choice of leaving behind his entire social circle, he was able to provide me with a comfortable life. This is one of the incentives why people move away despite the difficult phase of adjusting to their new life, others being financial stability and sense of purpose.

On the other hand, moving abroad brings about a list of disadvantages as well. It can be extremely daunting to face a new society and to slowly develop a new web of friends and acquaintances, and there are many cases where individuals are unable to continue living in a new city or town because of prejudice and racism. This has been prevalent for many brown people after the incidents of 9/11.