You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

The elderly should keep working if they are capable of doing so. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly agree with this view because of some benefits it brings to each old individuals.

One major benefit of working in their old age is that it can have a positive impact on their mental health. To be more specific, if the elderly continue to work, they will maintain contact with society. Therefore, they can avoid loneliness and depression, which can lead to a good overall well-being. For instance, some researchers say that in Vietnam the majority of the old people retired at an early age. Consequently, it can lead to their state of depression and the decrease of longevity. Another advantage of late retirement is that they can be more economically independent without the social welfare and financial support from their family. They can still gain salaries because they do not retire. For instance, grandparents may not need any monetary aid from their child or society if they still work for a particular company or do something that they can gain money from.

Nevertheless, retirement in an old age can bring drawbacks to the younger generation. The youngsters may have difficulty in finding a job because the rate of elderly workforce is on the rise. Therefore, the overall workforce is mainly for elderly. For example, in Korea, the percentage of manufacturing workers over the age of 55 experienced an increase in the last ten years because of the elderly’s refusal to retire.

In conclusion, I lean towards the view that the older people continue to work due to the fact that their mental health can enhance and they can be more financially self-reliant. In addition, the government should foster an older workforce to reap the advantages.