You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people suggest replacing traditional architectures in cities with modern buildings while other rally behind the idea of protecting these traditional buildings. Antique buildings are mostly outdated and they lack attributes to fulfill requirements of new generation. However, some people accentuate the fact that these traditional houses promotes our cultural values and should be protected.

Houses are constructed with better technologies in this century. This allows us to build hundreds of storey building which can provide more space than traditional buildings which are limited to few storeys. Since the quantity of land is limited which also limits constrution new buildings, we need to replace traditional houses with modern ones. For instance, due to the earthquake of 2015 A.D. in my country Nepal most of the traditional house of Kathmandu(capital of country) was demolised. This allowed the construction of modern buildings in that area. This provided more people to accomodate here which is supported by recent census data(showed dramatic increase in migration).

However, other argues that traditional buildings are our cultural heritage and government officials should focus preserving them. They believe that tourists will come to visit these houses as they reflect our ancestors’ art. For example, Basantapur Durbar square located in Kathmandu consists many traditional buildings built century ago. Various royal palace, shops, mills exist in this area built with traditional technologies. Tourists are attracted to visit this place as its beauty appeals them.

In conclusion, even though there are valid arguements of protecting old buildings for preserving our culture I support that old buildings should be replaced by modern generation buildings. Old buildings can not provide the servicability of modern buildings like safety, privacy, comfort,etc. Also, they are not feasible considering increasing population worldwide and limited land areas.