You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There are conflicting views about the primary purpose of universities in the academic career of graduates. Some focus on the vocational aims and the others on the knowledge only. However, I believe their sole purpose should be to get the students ready for the workforce and practical field.

Initiating with the first school of thought, educational institutions should focus on both knowledge and skills so the individuals can get prepared for the implications of learning. What is the purpose of education if they are unable to comprehend the situations in practical life? As 90% of students are studying to get a good job but a lot of graduates and even post graduates in Pakistan know nothing about their field. For instance, the engineers are unaware of the basic tools and IT technicians are not fit for the relevent jobs as they are not capable enough. This argument is supported by high rates of unemployment which has detrimental effects on the economy of a country.

On the other hand, the second school of thought may be argued by the people because of the fact that universities are educational institutions and not training centres. If they give equal weight age to knowledge and skill, they have to hire the teachers and experts at the same time, which the developing countries like Pakistan can not afford. For that reason, some people view universities as the mean of learning only and afterwards the courses, for example the diplomas and internships, in the relevent field can add to the skill and experience of the graduates.

To conclude, both approaches hold logical arguments but I believe the universities should perform in a way that they can offer viable options of practical and effective skills to the learners so they can make their mark in the world.