You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that it is necessay for universities to give access to knowledge and skills required in working, while others think universities should provide knowledge for its own sake. In my view, it is important to learn skills and knowledge to prepare for work for students.

Firstly, one of the purpose of universities is to prepare students for the society’s development. Students studying in universities look forward to learn the newest knowledge of science as well as catch up with the brand new ideas. As we all know, recently the society changes rapidly with the help of computer science and other science areas, so that the knowledgement renews in a high speed. So, what is important for universities and teachers is to follow the trend of the developing knowledge instead of only focusing on the out-of-date knowledge in the old books.

Moreover, students going to universities are all thirsty for seaching for an appropriate job after graduated from their school, so it would be great to learn useful knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. As we all know, the job market is really intense nowadays, because companies prefer more graduated students with skills and project experiences than before. As a result, students could be much more competative if they had learned some skills and knowledge for a job.

In conclusion, as one of the universities’ mission is to prepare students for their future, and students also wanna be competative in the job market, so it is crucial for universities to provide knowledge and skills required in graduates’s workplace.