You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development? You should write at least 250 words.

Laws to limit the working hours for employees have been introduced in some countries. I believe that this is a positive development.

The probable reason why these laws have been introduced is because a lot of companies force thier employees to work extra hours, sometimes much more than they were informed about during the time they were joining the company. Some companies do this in order to save money, rather than hiring a new employee, they instead distribute the work among the exisiting employees, requiring them to work extra hours. Although, this can also occur due to poor management skills, where a senior employee delegates their work to a junior employee, probably resulting them to work extra hours.

Working extra hours can not only affect the person physically, but also mentally. Depending on the feild of work, some jobs are much more labour intensive while some just require you to sit at a desk and work on the computer. Wether the job is labour intensive or not, over-working can lead to fatigue and stress, which is not healthy for the body or the mind. Although, these laws could negatively affect some people, such as students who are struggling to earn money and do not mind working extra hours to earn extra money which can help them survive.

In conclusion, introducing these laws which limit the working hours for employees, will result in employees working for the right amount of time, which will in turn keep them happy and healthy. Thus, introduction of these laws is definitely a positive development.