You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

A statement revealed that the only solution to reduce traffic congestion is by minimising people’s need to going out for work, education, and shopping. However, I disagree with the statement as these activities are essentials for our life. I believe that reducing the number of private vehicles on the road would be a better solution instead.

Majority of people tend to go outside their house to seek their primary needs such as working to fulfil their living necessities. As the outside world offers various things or activities that are beneficial for our basic essentials. Hence, it is difficult to limit people’s needs since our life majorly relies on it. However, rather than focusing on reducing activities, focusing on the road situation might be a more realistic option.

Traffic congestion is a situation of vehicular queueing which results in longer trip times. This is usually caused by the increased amount of owned vehicles on the road. In fact, using private cars or motorcycles on a daily basis usually do not have any necessities, some people used them for showing higher social status instead.

Therefore, other alternatives can be used to help reduce the traffic jams. For instance, public transportation has more benefits as it handles more capacities than the private one. Public buses or trains also offer cheaper prices and have their own railroad which does not involve traffic jams. The government also provides facilities for disabled people, elderly, and pregnant women.

In conclusion, minimising people’s needs is difficult because our life majorly depends on it. Instead, using public accommodations like public bus or train limiting private vehicles usage is a more possible solution.