You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

A statement believed that the only solution to reduce traffic congestion is by minimizing people’s need to go out for work, education, and shopping. However, I disagree with the statement as these activities are essential for our lives. I believe that reducing the number of private vehicles on the road would be a better solution instead.

The majority of people tend to go outside their homes to meet their primary needs such as working to fulfill their necessities. As the outside world offers various things or activities that are beneficial for our basic needs. Hence, it is difficult to limit people’s needs since our lives mostly rely on them. However, rather than focusing on reducing activities, focusing on improving the road situation might be a more realistic option.

Traffic congestion is a situation of vehicular queueing which results in longer trip times. This is usually caused by the increased amount of owned vehicles on the road. In fact, using private cars or motorcycles on a daily basis usually does not have any necessity, some people use them to show a higher social status instead.

Therefore, other alternatives can be used to help reduce the traffic congestion. For instance, public transportation has more benefits as it can handle more passengers than private vehicles. Public buses or trains also offer lower prices and have their own trakcs, avoiding traffic congestion. The government also provides facilities for people with disability, the elderly, and pregnant women.

In conclusion, minimizing people’s needs is difficult because our lives largely depend on them. Instead, using public accommodations like public buses or trains and limiting private vehicle usage is a more possible solution.