You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Many think that governments should invest in the projects of finding living opportunirties on other planets, while others think that this is not a good way to spend public money when there are many other problems on earth. I think a better option for people is to find a balance in between both ways of thinking. This will give people more choises to decide what do they want to be and do in this life.

Governments should spend money looking for life on other planets. Simply, this is a scientific technical progress and as human being we should learn new things to survive in an unknown future. People were always curious about stars, sky and if there is something else above them, whether it is a God or other planets and forms of life. We know many examples of this starting from Aztec civilisation. And nowadays, science is one of the popular fields to study and work for majority. If we take another example from our life is that we were made to survive and we always try to have a backup plan in any case. Seeing our planet is getting poluted everyday we realise that one day it could be a total disaster for all man kind, so this is one of those good decisions to try to use our knowledges about space, stars and planets to find a place alike the earth and have a plan B for humanity.

However, others think that this is a waste of public money and there are many other problems on earth to be solved. This statement is more considering as we face them everyday. As an example, global warming that caused natural habibtats of many types of animals to dissapear. And the technical progress is the main reason of the environmental issues. Of course, we should put our environment on priority one as we are the part of this system. From the other hand, being focused on solving environmental problems doesn’t really guarantee that people successfully will complete this misson. That is why having another option like the other planet is a good perspective for the next generations.

As a human being, the smartest version in the evloution chart, we should try to find a balance in achieving goals in both ways – discovering life on other places outside our planet and succeding in saving our blue planet. So the both views are good and essential for our lives.