You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. Write about the following topic: In some countries, marriages are arranged by their parents, but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partner. Discuss both systems and give your opinion.

In many parts of the world, marriage traditions differ greatly. Parents arrange marriages for their children in some countries, while in other societies individuals are given the freedom to choose their own partners. Both systems of matrimony have its own advantages and challenges and will be further discussed.

One marital practice is arranged marriages provided by parents for stability and security. It is commonly believed that parents, with their experience and wisdom, are better able to choose a suitable partner for their children. In many cultures, this is seen as a way to strengthen family ties and preserve traditions and can have long-lasting relationships because they are based on shared values and family compatibility. For example, it is still very common in India, and many families ensure the social background, education, and the like.

On the other hand, it is widely believed that choosing one’s own marriage partner allows greater personal freedom and happiness. Many people argue that individuals should have the right to select someone they love and feel emotionally connected to. This system is associated with modern societies where independence is highly valued. For instance, in Western countries, most people choose their own partners based on love and emotional connection and claim that they are likely to feel satisfied and committed as the relationship is bound by mutual affection and personal choice.

Personally, I believe self-chosen marriages are more suitable, most especially in modern society. For instance, in many progressive areas worldwide, couples who marry for love are reported to have higher levels of happiness and can last long. While fixed marriages may provide assurance for stability, the freedom to choose one’s spouse allows for deeper understanding of their emotional bonds, which are crucial for long-term marriage success.

In conclusion, marriage traditions vary across cultures and each style presents its own strengths and challenges. What matters most is that relationships are built on respect, understanding, and commitment. Therefore, I am of the partial opinion that self-chosen unions are more suitable.