You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better? You should write at least 250 words.

Some people think that cities that exist out of several taller buildings is better, instead of houses built on a wider spread. I believe, although cities created on a wider area of land can have advantages, cities with taller buildings, is the best form of urbanization.

Firstly, more and more people want to live in a city nowadays, with the result of an increasing border of the city. When people live on top of each other, they can make use of the same infrastructure such as streets, shops, and public transport systems. If a city is created on a wider spread of land, longer roads are needed and a public transport system should have more stopping points due to people live further away from each other what can increase the costs of the usage. For example, The Netherlands has to deal with a crisis on the housing market these days. Although constructing houses on a wider spread of land is common in The Netherlands, an upcoming trend is visible in adding extra floorplans on top of a building. This solution results in better usable transport methods for individuals.

Furthermore, people that live in taller buildings such as skyscrapers, often don’t have a private garden. However, due to this lack of land, less space is needed, what can result in cheaper construction costs. If more people buy an apartment on top of each other, the costs of for instance the foundation or the property can be divided between all the buyers instead of individuals that need to pay all these parts.

In conclusion, I believe construct buildings on top of each other instead of next to each other is the best form of urbanization. Although people that live in taller buildings don’t have a private garden or have to share transport methods, taller buildings are often cheaper to make and to live in.