You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that children should spend their free time doing organised activities, such as sports and music lessons. Others believe that children should be free to play and explore. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Most people think that the children should spend their leisure time in organised sports and art classes while others think that they should explore and be free. In this essay we will discuss which is suitable for children.

People tend to think the earlier the child learn any extra curricular activity the better it will be for them in the future. They want their kids to be multi-talented at a young age, since this will be helpful even the child fails in academics. If he/she achieved gold medal in swimming in their earlier days, that will help them improve their skill in time and eventually they will become a national player or even a Olympic gold medalist. Same applies for art classes also.

On the contrary, some people think children should be free at their young age because that will help their mind to be more creative in the future, thereby helping them achieve later on in their life. They tend to think that pressurizing or giving them a target at a early age gives them stress which will eventually leads to depression. For instance if a parent told their kid to get first place in swimming even though his/her performance is mediocre will create a stress on him/her to put a lot of work at a young age and if they fail to achieve, they might get depressed about it.

In conclusion, even though both of the views are correct, I would say that the children should get their own freedom to do what they want or what they want to achieve. I think they should have their right to choose what they can do in their free time because it will help them to be more creative and accomplice more in the future.