You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

There are many differing opinions when it comes to developed countries providing aid to poorer countries in order to assist their growth or lessen the rate of poverty. One way that countries do this is through sending money in order to rectify such issues. However, there are also arguments suggesting that other types of support should be done instead of just financial.

Firstly, wealthier countries can help their poorer counterparts through means of financial aid. This mainly is done through sending money to that country’s government so they can use it to address ongoing problems in the nation, or spend it on improving its infrastructure. However, there is a notable risk with this approach. For countries that are less developed, their governments also have a variety of issues to deal with, and the monetary support they receive might not be enough to rectify all of them. Additionally, there is also a likelihood that those funds will be misused by the recipient, whether it be through wrong investments or corruption in the governmental system that ultimately doesn’t utilise the money as intended. While financial aid is indeed common among countries, the risks such an approach carries are also just as notable.

Secondly, there could also be other means of support rather than just money. For instance, a developed country could help their fellow nations through partnerships where investors and international companies can invest in any area necessary. While not as direct as giving monetary assistance, investments allow for companies from developed countries to utilise their expertise in various domains, whether it be infrastructure, healthcare or education. This prevents funds from being squandered and allows them to be used for their intended purposes. Such partnerships not only allow for investments into the country to strengthen their economy, but also its society at large, as well as relationship between two nations. Additionally, such investments can also allow for more developed countries to gain extra influence among their geopolitical peers, while simultaneously strengthening their allies and international standing.

In conclusion, there are various ways richer nations can help their poorer counterparts. While financial aid is the most direct approach, there are risks that such funds could be used for other areas instead of its original purpose. While it is no guarantee that outside investment could be totally risk free, there is instead more transparency in the way support is given. Not only the recipients will improve economically, but also in plenty of other areas within their society at large, as well as their international relationships.