You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development You should write at least 250 words.

In certain countries, the general populace tend to spend longer hours at work. The main factors causing this are the rise of the world population which leads to people getting competitive. In my view, both positive and negative development can occur when spending longer hours at work.

In today’s society, it is increasingly harder to obtain a stable job because of the competitive sense developing among people. The world is getting crowded, caused mainly by the rise of population. Therefore, companies tend to believe that spending longer hours at work can determine the certainty of achieving bigger earnings. It can be beneficial for the people, as it will deepen the bond with co-workers and growth of income. Additionally, longer hours at work can give more experience to workers that were new to the working industry.

On the other hand, spending longer hours at work can lower one’s performance. Longer hour means lesser time to rest and take a break at home. This action can lead to stress and getting sleep deprivation. Thus, working in the office can get duller overtime, causing the lack of motivation in achieving outstanding performance at work. Additionally, the increase of income means there are more taxes to be paid. There is no guarantee that having a larger income leads to a successful life full of excitement and happiness.

In conclusion, although longer hours seem to be more beneficial, the disadvantages exceeds it. While spending longer hours at work might determine a stable income, but it could also affect one’s performance.