You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe government should spend money 💰 on building train 🚊 and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Many people argue that the authorities should invest governmental money in railed public transport in order to make traffic less congested, while others suggest these investments to be directed to construction of new wider roads. From my perspective, I would opt for the former, because trains are more environmentally friendly as opposed to wider roads, that can cause an enormous rise in air pollution.

Despite all the benefits that wider and newer roads offer to vehicle owners, which include enhanced and faster traffic, an increase in car business, and available travel costs, such a development affects environment detrimentally. Wider roads have a huge potential to create a base for a significant rise in popularity of vehicles. Thus, more cars will produce carbon dioxyde, a notorious gas, huge amount of which is emitted to the atmosphere worldwide, causing climate change and rising average temperatures globally. Compared to the advantages of road expansion, just this drawback is enough to look for better alternatives.

One of the alternative ways to attain reduction in traffic congestion is building both onland and underground railways. The issue addressed previously does not occur in this decision. Trains are known for their speed and environmentally friendly usage. Most of the trains work on electricity and do not emit any gases. Although initial train costs are respectively higher than those for road expanding, this financial inconvenience is fully compensated in future. For example, train infrastructure in Tashkent has been developed in recent years which has led to better traffic and an increased income from public transport.

In conclusion, although widening and constructing newer roads is beneficial for car owners and producers, it has a major disadvantage on the environmental side. This is why I would choose to develop railway sector for absence of such an issue and faster travel opportunities.