You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: 'Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.' Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In today’s world, children are often seen misbehaving with their parents irrespective of the time and place, often leads to a disrespectful behavior. This, in turn, has a huge degression of moral values in society, for both present and future generations. I have tried to support my stance with examples in the latter paragraphs.

The earlier generations were more respectful and obedient towards their elders, be it their parents or any other senior member of the family. They had the desired admiration for their parents and in some cases it was over the top. They had always valued the hardships their parents have gone through to make their life very comfortale. I have, for instance, seen my mother always agreeing to my grandmother’s wishes, whether it’s in her best favour or not. She never talked back to her. This proves the level of respect she had for her. This was the way of life as our seniors have seen their parents struggle to provide the comfortable lifestyle, not relative in nature.

On the other hand, children today are way beyond these traits. They often feel the urge to disregard their parent’s wishes and do what suits them the best. As the intensity of the exposure to different lifestyles is increasing due to social media and internet usage, kids demands are growing exponentially. They tend not to consider the efforts and hardships their parents are experiencing in order to provide them the utmost living standard. Additionally, this behavior has a placebo effect in the society. Children usually have a tendency to adapt from their peers and if there is even one kid behaving badly with his parents, others would follow the same.

To sum up, today’s generation doesn’t realize their parents pain to provide them the best life. They prefer to believe the social media facade. This is having an adverse effect on society as most of the present generation have forgotten to treat their elders with respect.