You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: 'Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.' Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Children are more rebelleous today as compared to our previous generations. The reasons are increased usage of daycare services, parents spending less time with their children, and almost disappearing joint-family structures. This in turn results in lack of respect towards the parents.

Let us start discussing the impact of daycare services on the child’s behaviour. Kids of working parents spend about 60-70% of their time in daycares wherein they could learn something which is not appropriate for their age either from their tutors or peers. For example, our neighbour’s kid learnt foul language after going to the daycare and started using it in front of others. This in turn led to the parents’ embarrassment.

Next, spending less time with the child means the child learns less from their parents. The transfer of wisdom and principles is not taking place as it did earlier in the past as one of the parent was always available to take care of the child. This in turn is making the kids disrespect their parents.

Lastly, the decrease in the joint-family structure increased the kids’ loneliness factors as they are left either at daycares or with nannies during their main brain growth period. This in turn results in tweaked emotional states within children and increases their disrespect towards their parents.

In conclusion, because of the above mentioned reasons, the younger generation these days grow up with no respect towards their parents, leave their homes at young ages, and stop caring for their birthgivers from early stages of their lives. This has resulted in increased usage of old-age homes, lonely aged parents, and so on.