You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries, government safety laws include things such as wearing a hard hat on a building site or wearing safety clothes in certain factories. To what extent are laws of this kind a good idea? What sort of safety law would you introduce, if you were given a chance? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Numerous countries have safety rules while working. For instance, wearing a helmet while working on a construction site, or wearing safety clothes in some factories that deal with some hazardous chemicals. In my opinion, such rules are ideal for preventing severe workplace accidents. If I were in charge of passing such safety laws, I would ensure that such safety drills to be added in curriculum as well as the companies which do not follow proper safety protocols will be highly penalised.

Safety measures such as wearing a hard hat and safety clothes protects the worker from unforeseen circumstances. On construction sites, workers deal with the bricks, concrete, and iron rods, one single accident can cause severe injuries. Not to mention that most of the people from this workforce come from underprivileged classes, and such accidents can put a pause on their income for several days. Wearing a helmet and protective gear, are preventive measures to minimise such injuries. Wearing safety clothes are necessary in factories dealing with hazardous chemicals, as a single drop of such chemicals can burn the skin and can cause long term effects. Furthermore, such companies also include masks, so that the employees do not inhale chemicals. As a result this maintains the safe environment in the factory.

If I were given a chance to introduce safety laws, I would firstly ensure to add safety lessons in the curriculum of schools or Universities, by organising safety drills once a year. If we start teaching about safety rules at the workplace from an early stage, it will make them more aware about hazards, and what to do in such situations. Another law is for developing countries. Many developing countries foresee such safety measures at the workplace, which results in some brutal accidents. If I were in power, I would make sure to pass a law which states that a company should not proceed with their functions if they do not meet the safety requirements, if not followed they would be penalised or strict actions will be taken against them. For instance, for factories, if they do not have enough fire exits, proper first aid treatments, or do not follow the safety protocols, they would be given warnings for three times. If the problem still persists, I will cancel their license or heavily fine them.

In conclusion, wearing safety hats and clothes at their designated workplace is a remarkable idea. It protects them from severe injuries. If I were given a chance I would like to enforce laws which include, including safety programmes in school curriculum and stringent punishments if workplaces fail to follow safety protocols.