You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why are more people choosing to have operation to change the way they look? Do you think this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In contemparary society, more and more people choose to have cosmetic surgey for a better appearance. Some argue that violates the rule of nature. In this essay, I will examine the reasons of this phenomonon and I believe this is a positive development on society.

One significant factor that fosters cosmetic surgery is the positive change of perception from society. In the past, people treated cosmetic operations as a symbol of fake. Individuals felt ashamed about having these surgeries. However, the perspectives towards it changed dramatically. People regard it as a way for personal improvement and thus many people tend to do it. Apart from that, the technology advancement also brings positive effect to the whole beauty industry. The equipments and the techniques used in the clinics have been improved over the decades. The cost of operation also benefits from the economy of scale. As a result, the confidence and acceptance of public toward the comestic surgery increase.

It is undeniable that this brings positive effect to societal development. Humans are designed to appreciate beautiful things. Individuals usually judge each other for their first impression by looking at their appearance. Self-confidence of an individual can be established after cosmetic surgery. It may help them in terms of socialization and employment. From a macro aspect, the development of beauty industry brings revenue to the country. Korea is a strong proof that a well-developed beauty-care system can benefit a country developemnt.

To conclude, everyone likes beautiful things. The growth in the number of people having cosmetic surgery definitely brings benefits to an individuals or even a country. Society should keep the openness to the development of the beauty industy.