You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? You should write at least 250 words.

No, I don’t think advantages of social media interaction outweigh disadvantages. Social media has replaced many experiences which makes a person feel more human such as visiting people. Although there are benefits of these new apps, the drawbacks are far more intense.

Social media apps like whatsapp and instagram allow you to connect with the other person virtually. It is convenient as you can drop a message or call the other person instantly without having the need to fix a time for meetup. As it also does not require you to travel, it saves costs too. However, technology can never replicate the human touch, no matter how advanced it is. The satisfaction and happiness you feel after meeting someone face to face cannot be achieved with online conversations. Moreover, the feel of a warm hug and other physical gestures and the effect that it has on a human is inexplainable. These human experiences could never be achieved by chatting online.

Moreover, quality of conversations in physical meeting is far better than on social media. The real time reaction of someone you are talking to in a personal meeting is impossible to be captured by emoticons. The stickers and emoticons cannot imitate the rawness experienced in a physical meeting. For instance, imagine someone disclosing a good news about their life to his of her family members while meeting them versus them telling it on whatsapp. There would be a stark difference in seeing their reaction because on chat, it is hard to see somone’s real reaction.

Therefore, I believe that social media may have some prons but the cons outweigh them. Interacting with someone face to face is a far more fulfilling experience.