You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? You should write at least 250 words.

The rise of the internet’s popularity is a hotly debated topic that often divides opinon. The use of digital communication questions the consequences that may underlay. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of social media.

The primary benefit of social media is widening the range of opportunities to make new acquaintances around the world. The access to internet offers a chance to exchange experience with different people without any expanditures. Consequently, the individual’s mindset expands, resulting in development of emotional intelligence.

Another important advantage to highlight is freedom of expression. In other words, social media do not require face-to-face communication, which often is the reason why people cannot show their genuine side. Therefore, showing a person’s real interests may positively affect their self-assessment and boost their confidence.

Nevertheless, a decrease in face-to-face interaction may cause severe mental issues. As socialization is one of the primary human needs, it is communication among the people, which stabilizes formation of person’s values, traits and interests. Otherwise, an individual may become a human without any real-life communication skills, which are significant both in everyday talks and job. Furthermore, if a person spends the majority of their time in the social media, a lack of real contact may cause crucial mental problems such as depression.

In conclusion, the opportunity to make new friends globally and the freedom of expression yourself are significantly overweight the possible risks. I am inclined to think, if a digital interaction is properly balanced with a real-life communication, a global network is an awesome instrument of mental growth.