You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, people tend to work for long hours in their offices, This is because of extreme workload and poor work-life balance. In my opinion it’s an extremely negative practice as it consumes social energy, mental stamina.

Working people spend prolonged period of their time at offices because they are entitled to deal with immense workload, Therefore it becomes practically impossible for a normal person to complete their given tasks and meet submission deadline without putting in extra hours at office. For example, a study conducted in Europe in 2018 states that over 60% of the corporate offices do not follow designated 9-5 timings for their workers. it happens in big organizations as they are poised to manage large number of people with limited workforce which creates a mounting workload and it becomes hard to manage such number of requests without compromising the working hours.

Though, it may yield more revenue for a company, this essay strongly disagrees with such approach. Working overtime leads to mental burnout for a person, by the time he reaches home after a tiring 12 hour shift at office, it becomes almost impossible to do any other task for their mental and physical wellbeing. For example a person tired from office work will not have any energy left in him to spend time with his family. This constant exhaustive cycle can lead to unnecessary anger and fatigue.

Working overtime can be beneficial for a company and individual in financial terms but it has an equally negative impact on their physical and mental well being, Such routines should be discouraged and policed by authorities.