Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The essay will first demonstrate that being in a group of high achievers will force the individual to seek self-improvement, setting a higher standard. Also, sometimes peers pressure teenagers to get out of their comfort zone and participate in new opportunities. This will be followed by an analysis of how the primary disadvantage, namely that young minds are especially prone to societal pressure, sometimes leading to them participating in questionable activities, is not plausible.

Successful friend groups lead to successful people. Being surrounded by intelligent people not only allows teenagers to learn directly from them, but also hold themselves accountable, mirroring their success. There is a saying in the Russian language “Show me your friends and I will be able to tell what kind of person you are”. In addition, positively influencing people constantly look for new great opportunities for them and their peers. Successful individuals want people around them to be flourishing too, forcing them to challenge their limits and grow. For instance, being in a circle of marathon runners will pressure the rest of the teenagers to eventually start running too.

During teenage years people tend to have an urge to fit in. That desire sometimes turns out badly in dangerous circles. However, it is not that big of an issue for minors who have authoritative figures as their parents. As tempting as it may seem to get validation from peers through dangerous activities, young minds that are conscious about consequences will never cross the law. Namely people from stable families are at a lower risk of attempting to fit in by hazardous activities.

Social communication is important to teenagers, it stimulates personal growth and provides new opportunities, changing the world of young minds. On the contrary, there are also unfortunate cases of communication within a social circle. As everything in the world, peer pressure has a small flaw. However, as long as minors are conscious enough to not cross the line, peer pressure will only turn out beneficial for them.