Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

There are debates over the impact of peer pressure on young people, whether it is positive or not. In spite of the advantages of this phenomenon, potential disadvantages outweigh them, causing some long-term mental issues.

One of the primary arguments concerning a harmful effect of people in the same age group is that teenagers are emotionally fragile and prone to psychological problems, including apathy and depression. It means the cruelty and eccentricity of others might cause a lack of self-confidence, depriving individuals of enthusiasm. Moreover, it is likely to influence the further professional and personal life of a teenager. Take, for example, an adolescent, who is shy by nature; they can perceive some kinds of treatment as bulling and become too reserved. Consequently, the fear of self-expression alters their personality, making them avoid some activities they would like to participate in.

An opposite point to consider is that being influenced by someone may bring certain benefits. In other words, young individuals can be role models for each other, helping themselves and their coevals mature. To illustrate, a child is unlikely to commit crimes or insult someone if such a behaviour is inappropriate in their social circles; otherwise, they risk staying alone. That is why school boys and girls should be surrounded by those belonging to the same age cohort, but they ought to be filtered.

In conclusion, peers are an essential component of the process of growing up. On the one hand, they might be an example to follow; on the other hand, their pressure has negative sides, resulting in the development of insecurity.