Young people today spend too much money and time following fashion trends (clothing, technology). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that today’s youth have had a plethora of exposure to fashion trends and advanced technology.

As a result, many people assumed that they squandered too much money and time following these latest trends.

I partially agree with this argument because of the following reasons.

First of all, many young individuals are willing to spend a significant amount of money and time chasing after the latest trends to show off their status or keep up with their peers. The Internet and social media have also been fast-evolving, exposing people, particularly the youth, to a vast number of pictures of individuals who live a desired rich lifestyle. Both of these elements contribute to the fact that changing clothes frequently or attempting to own the most cutting-edge technological devices, such as iPhones or Tablets, could be viewed as the typical example of this lavish lifestyle, which poses an excessive emphasis on materialism and appearance values.

However, I believe it is incorrect to conclude that all young generations follow this phenomenon. Nowadays, a minimalist lifestyle is considered by an increasing number of people. In other words, they are eliminating all unnecessary purchases and favouring long-lasting technological or clothing products to save time and energy in the long run. Moreover, several younger people are currently focusing their efforts on improving their physical and mental health rather than spending time and money on new trends. It implies that the youth are engaging in a variety of other beneficial activities. Finally, it is understandable why many people criticize the youth for wasting too much time and money on new and appealing trends. However, labelling all of the younger generations with this trend is simply unjust.