Young people who commit serious crime should receive the same punishment as adult offenders. Do you agree or disagree?Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary era, there is a commonly held belief which states that teenagers and adolescenes who commit serious crimes should be punished equally as adults. While there are several obvious benefits of it, I still disagree with this notion.

On the one hand, there are number of positive sides of punishing young people in the same way as adults. The main one is the equal treatment before the law between people at different ages. This is because the vast majority of young offenders are feel freedom and do not take the consequences seriously. Hence, it leads to a recklessness, since they do not understand their guiltiness. For example, in countries such as Japan and Austria, there were conducted many studies in terms of phychological patterns among young crimers. As a result, investigations showed that people under 18, tend to commit more serious crimes after criminal record.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned benefit, this change may come with several drawbacks. In contrast, teenagers are still useful source of economic development for governments. Consequently, it makes no-brainer that authorities should give chance to youngsters. This can be accomplished by imposing new laws and create new special programmes, which would help to rehabilitate juveniles. For instance, in my country-Uzbekistan, the state allocates substantial amount of money to make system ideal and accessible to the general public in countries all over the world.

In conclusion, despite the undeniable benefits of notion that young people should be punished in the same way as adults, I personally contend that it is important to acknowledge the drawbacks associated with economic and human-being sides.